West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Distinguished Lecture Series

Distinguished Lecture Series

Upcoming Distinguished Lecture Series

Date: Friday, February 10, 2017
Time: 9:00 am
Location: Legacy Hall
Host: Rogers LEAD WT Leadership Summit
Registration: http://wtamu.edu/lead-wt-leadership-summit.aspx
Speaker: Tim Elmore, Ph.D. – https://growingleaders.com/

Date: Monday, February 13, 2017
Time: 6:00 P.M.
Location: Alumni Banquet Hall
Host: Department of Agricultural Sciences
Speaker: Jayson Lusk, Ph.D. – http://jaysonlusk.com/

Date: Monday, February 20, 2017
Time: 6:00 pm
Location: Legacy Hall
Host: Department of Communication for Communication Week
Speaker: Eva Harder - https://www.linkedin.com/in/eva-harder-a86a358

Date: Thursday, March 23, 2017
Time: 7:30 pm
Location: Cornette Library, Blackburn Room
Host: Dr. Bruce Brasington
Speaker: Paul Freedman, Ph.D. – http://history.yale.edu/people/paul-freedman

Date: Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Time: 7:00 pm
Location: Legacy Hall
Host: Dr. Emily Kinsky
Speaker: Sarah Jones - https://uk.linkedin.com/in/sarah-jones-830b818

Date: Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Time: 6:00 pm
Location: Alumni Banquet Facility Room
Host: Association of Latino Professionals for America (ALPFA) and College of Business for the Excellence in Leadership & Entrepreneurship
Speaker: Laura Lopez - http://www.laura-lopez.com/

Date: Thursday, April 13, 2017
Time: To be determined
Location: Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum
Host: Dr. Alex Hunt and the Center for the Study of the American West (CSAW)
Speaker: S.C. Gwynne – http://www.scgwynne.com/

Call 651-2465 for more information.

WTAMU’s Distinguished Lecture Series was created in 2007 to enhance education in the classroom. A portion of the student activity fee funds the series, and committee members strive to select speakers who appeal to a broad spectrum of the student body. The mission of the Distinguished Lecture Series is to invite persons of national prominence to the WTAMU campus in order to expose our students to some of the most important issues of our times.

The Distinguished Lecture Series at WTAMU has brought some big names to campus through the years to inspire and enlighten students, faculty and the community. Topics are varied, and guest speakers have included President Bill Clinton, Elie Wiesel, Maya Angelou, Karl Rove, Mike Huckabee, Dr. Jared Diamond and Sally Ride.

For more information about the Distinguished Lecture Series, contact:
Dr. Bonnie Roos
Head of the Distinguished Lecture Series Committee
(806) 651-2465

Faculty and Staff

The application form to request funding for speakers may be found on WTAcess, Forms, Miscellaneous, Distinguished Lecture Series,

Deadlines for applications are April 1 for Fall semester, and October 1 for Spring semester.

Applications may be submitted prior to any deadline for either the Fall or Spring semester. Applications submitted prior to the deadlines will be given priority. Other applications may be considered on a rolling basis as funds are available.