West Texas A&M University - Home
Buff Transit Tracker
Lubbock Students Receive WTAMU Scholarships

Sept. 11, 2017

CONTACT:    Dr. Dave Rausch, 806-651-2423, jrausch@wtamu.edu

COPY BY:     Rana McDonald, 806-651-2129, rmcdonald@wtamu.edu

Lubbock Students Receive WTAMU Scholarships


CANYON, Texas—West Texas A&M University students Zach Olguin and Hagen Hobbs are the recipients of a Maxine Durrett Earl Charitable Foundation Scholarship and each will receive $5,000 for the 2017-2018 academic year.

The scholarships are awarded annually in memory of Maxine Durrett Earl to provide scholarships to students who graduated from high schools in and around Garza county and are majoring in political science and/or history at WTAMU. Recipients must be full-time students classified as a sophomore, junior or senior and maintain a 3.0 GPA.

Olguin, a junior political science major from Lubbock, and Hobbs, a junior history major also from Lubbock, were both selected for the scholarship based on geographic qualification and academic performance.

Earl, a Post native, was a schoolteacher and local business owner. She was a local leader who served on the Post City Council from 1977-1985. Earl was interested in historical preservation and cultural activities. She was recognized for her dedicated service to the South Plains Association of Governments, the Governor’s Committee on Aging and the Texas Alliance for Education and Arts.



Post a Comment